Jul 29, 2013

Court Yard Hounds - Amelita Album Review

Amelita is Courtyard Hound's second album, released July 16, 2013, three years after their self-titled debut album.

Amelita is a little bit country and a little bit rock 'n' roll, a perfect balance of up-beat and mellow which reflects a new perspective, due in part to time passed since Robison's divorce.  Eleven brand new songs and I like every single one of them.  The violins! The banjos!

I’ve been freed of all of those time-heals-everything kind of things,” says Robison. “Now, I’ve opened up to other ideas and ways of looking at life and the world. I think it’s not only a more hopeful album, but it’s more… well fun."

Fun it is.  Amelita has a self-improvement, keeping-your-head-up positive sound to it.....
  "Watch Your Step" is a lot of fun.  "Rock All Night" and "Phoebe" get pretty rowdy and "The Road You Take" is absolutely beautiful.  The Courtyard Hounds' new album is a clear statement of who the ladies are as artists, defining their sound as a band, with soaring songs that are personal, yet familiar and widely relatable.
"I love this band...the way we explore new aspects of ourselves and what we can expect from each other, both musically and as people," says Martie. "We are close. Plus, being on the road and being in the studio is like my spa from the everyday challenges of just being a mom.

To kick off this new album, Emily Robison and Martie Maguire, sisters, will hit the road on August 1 for a U.S. tour, starting at the Fargo Theatre, ND. You may have heard these Dixie Chicks making the rounds on the talk shows recently.   Tour Schedule

Buy Amelita now on iTunes
Buy Amelita now on Amazon.

Follow Courtyard Hounds on Twitter and Facebook.   Follow Emily Robison and Martie McGuire on Twitter.

Amelita Track Listing:
  1. Sunshine
  2. Amelita
  3. The World Smiles
  4. Aimless Upward
  5. Guy Like You
  6. Rock All Night
  7. Phoebe
  8. Divided
  9. Gets You Down
  10. Watch Your Step
  11. The Road You Take

Disclosure:  I participated in this campaign for One2One Network. I received a free copy of the CD to facilitate my review. By posting, I am eligible for incentives. All opinions stated are my own.

No comments: